Books

Where the Wild Cherries Grow

UK: Black Swan: 2017, US: Macmillan, 2018.

where-the-wild-cherries-grow-coverIt is 1919 and the end of the war has not brought peace for Emeline Vane. Lost in grief, she is suddenly alone at the heart of a depleted family. She can no longer cope. And just as everything seems to be slipping beyond her control, in a moment of desperation, she boards a train and runs away.

I closed my eyes as I tried to pick apart every flavour, because nothing had ever tasted so good before. It was love and it could not be hidden.

Fifty years later, a young solicitor on his first case finds Emeline’s diary. Bill Perch is eager to prove himself but what he finds in the tattered pages of neat script goes against everything he has been told. He begins to trace a story of love and betrayal that will send him on a journey to discover the truth. What really happened to Emeline all those years ago?

‘Atmospheric, engaging and sublimely satisfying’ – Veronica Henry

 

Where the Wild Cherries Grow will be published in the US by Macmillan in February 2018. is published in German as Der Duft von Meer und Thymian  by Bastei Lübbe and as La ragazza delle ciliegie by Piemme. It is due to be translated into Norwegian in 2017/2018.

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Waterstones / WH Smith / Barnes & Noble / Books-a-Million / Indiebound / Powells  / Find your local bookshop

The Confectioner’s Tale 

(UK: Black Swan US: St Martin’s Press)

The confectioners tale front onlyAt the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop.

“Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read” (Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard)

“Sizzling forbidden love story set in 1900s Paris . . . four stars” (Heat)

“A heady mix of passion and betrayal set against the stunning backdrops of 1909 Paris and 1980s Cambridge.” (The Lady)

“Delightful, delicious and so typically French sweet and salty: this debut is a must read for every reading gourmet and for any Paris-Lover.” Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“In her fast-paced, deliciously addictive debut novel, Laura Madeleine throws the reader directly into 1910 Paris. You can feel the grittiness of Montmartre, see the Left Bank streets, and smell the sugar in the patisseries. Featuring romance, family secrets, and a well-executed dual narrative, The Confectioner s Tale is as transportive a book as you can read.” Michelle Gable, New York Times bestselling author of A Paris Apartment and I’ll See You in Paris

“[A] passionate and thrilling story. Fans of Alex Rosenberg and Naomi Wood will enjoy this glimpse inside the decadent and sensual world of 1910s Paris.” Booklist

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Waterstones / Find your local bookshop / Barnes & Noble / Books-a-million / Indiebound / Powells

The Confectioner’s Tale is published in the US by Macmillan. It has been translated and published in Italian, French, German, Bulgarian, Dutch, Lithuanian and Czech, and is also due to be translated into Latvian in 2017.

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Books

  1. Corinne Kempt says:

    Hi Laura
    I hope you don’t mind me emailing you but I’d really like to give my fellow author friend a copy of your “The Confectioner’s Tale” for her birthday next weekend. Are you going to HIIT on Monday? If so please could you bring me a copy (and sign it if you don’t mind!) Obviously I’ll pay for it!
    Thanks so much
    Corinne (your burpee partner in crime!)

    Like

  2. Christina says:

    Thank you so much for this exciting book! I’m from Russia and I ordered your book in September – two weeks ago it finally arrived! I’ve read it with pleasure and have truly enjoyed every page of it. The book cover is amazing too:)

    Like

    • lauramadeleine says:

      Hi Christina, thank you for getting in touch. Thanks as well for your kind words; I’m absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed it. Sorry you had to wait so long! Yes, the team at Transworld did a lovely job on the cover (can’t wait to see the new one!). L x

      Like

  3. Holly Ward says:

    Wow! I’ve had an amazing afternoon, curled up on the sofa going between Cambridge and Paris! What a wonderful story – I really lived it. You write so beautifully – I felt like I was there besides all the characters and had tears in my eyes at the end. Wonderful! I look forward to your new book! Thank-you Laura!

    Like

    • lauramadeleine says:

      Thank YOU Holly! You’ve made my day. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. (This is the perfect weather for being curled up with a book!) Hope you enjoy the next one when it comes out too…

      Like

    • lauramadeleine says:

      Hi Lynne, thank you for reading! Delighted that you’re enjoying it. I do indeed have another book planned, something similar (and a little bit different!) rather than a direct sequel, although you might encounter the odd familiar face in it… It’s currently scheduled to be published summer this year, so do watch this space for dates, as I’ll be shouting as soon as I know exactly when.

      Like

  4. Judy Perry says:

    I was wondering about your book A Taste of Secrets. I was looking for it in August 2016, but it did not come out. Is it now titled Where the Wild Cherries Grow? I would love to read it. Will you have any giveaways. I belong to Goodreads and would love to read it and rate it. Please let me know about your new book. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lauramadeleine says:

      Hi Judy,

      Thanks for getting in touch. I’m so pleased you’re interested in my next book. Apologies for any confusion; there’s been a delay in the publication of The Taste of Secrets, which has now been re-titled Where the Wild Cherries Grow! I’m happy to say that it’s definitely due out in April 2017, and proof copies should be appearing soon. I’ll see what I can do to get you one. 🙂

      Best,

      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s